Prospective students should note that concealed carry license applicants must be:
- 21 years of age;
- A citizen of the United States, a permanent resident alien or an eligible non-immigrant alien;
- A resident of the State of Kansas with a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card, or residing in Kansas while serving on active duty in the military; and
- A resident of the county where applying
(All courses held at the Randolph Sr. Center, Randolph, KS unless otherwise specified)
1) Address handgun safety in the classroom, at home, on the firing range, and while carrying a handgun.
2) Identify the 4 cardinal rules of handgun safety.
3) Learn to safely load and unload revolvers and semi-automatic handguns.
4) Demonstrate acceptable marksmanship with a handgun at distances most likely to be encountered in a self defense situation.
5) Learn to properly clean and care for a handgun.
6) Address safe storage of handguns at home and in automobiles.
7) Discuss handgun safety for various ages of children.
8) Discuss the state requirements for obtaining a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement from the Kansas Attorney General’s office and a concealed carry endorsement issued by the Kansas Department of Revenue.
9) Address the specifics of the concealed carry legislation.
10) Discuss the laws relating to the use of force as prescribed in SB418, HB2118, and SB366.
11) Satisfactorily perform a live fire test consisting of 25 rounds fired at distances of 3, 7, and 10 yards at a FBI TQ-15 or IALEFIQ target (a minimum of 18 of the 25 required rounds striking the scoring portion on an approved target):
- 5 rounds one-handed at a distance of 3 yards (approx. 9 ft),
- 10 rounds free-style at a distance of 7 yards (approx. 21 ft), and
- 10 rounds free-style at a distance of 10 yards (approx. 30 ft).
13) Display knowledge and proficiency of deadly-force issues by passing an approved written test with a minimum score of 100 percent at the conclusion of the class. All incorrect answers will be reviewed with the instructor before the conclusion of the class (the test may be re-taken).
Upon passing the course, you will receive a signed Certificate suitable for framing that you will copy and submit to the Kansas Attorney General’s office when you apply for your CCH permit.